Your toothbrush staring at mine

Dearest S,

This morning, I was sure you were in my bed. I felt the warmth of your body, your soft hair, my arms around you as we spooned and slept. Then my phone rang and reality set in. As I got up to brush my teeth, I noticed your toothbrush sort of facing mine, almost as if they were looking at each other. That’s sort of funny, since you never lived here. You only put it there last week actually, when we went to see the Woody Allen movie, and I gave it to you because you wanted to freshen up before we left. Call me crazy but I don’t want to put it away. I like it there. It feels like it is in its right place. So I’m leaving it. And in the immortal words of Forrest Gump, “that’s all I have to say about that”.

Today is an important day for you, as I know you have your first meeting with a client for your new job. I can’t tell you how proud I am of you that you got this new job so quickly after your previous company downsized. Less than a week unemployed in this economy is really impressive by any standard! I’m certain part of it is that it is easy for anyone to see what an exceptional, bright, amazing person you are. I will text you later this evening to ask you how it went. Until then, I’ll be sending positive thoughts.

Right now, I’m going to start working on the arrangement of our duet we’re going to sing. There is pure joy for me in preparing this for us. Part of it is because I know how much you’ve wanted to do this. I do this for a living, but this will be your first try at this since your high school musical theater days. If it makes you happy, it’s going to make me happy too. I can’t wait. I know it’s going to be fun. And I know you’re going to be great. You have a natural gift for captivating people. Audiences love that.

With love,

A.

2 thoughts on “Your toothbrush staring at mine

Leave a Reply

